Some Americana for Frank’s birthday

Gallery

A few years ago, Frank found this gem of a shirt, complete with the Easy Rider detail:

He loves wearing it to work.  I think it has a particularly stunning affect on his co-workers here in Europe.  Since he found this great wardrobe staple, he’s been on the lookout for more button-down shirts with similarly unique and inspiring Americana prints.  Although there is a obviously an element of humor here, please don’t misunderstand me.  Frank, although he is German, loves America.  Possibly even more than I do.

And he’s a hard guy to shop for.  So, for his birthday this year, I made him a new shirt.  I asked my mom to bring some fabric from America on her last visit, and using a Kwik Sew pattern, I put this beauty together in about a day last week:

The fabric is called Red, White and Blue Boots Americana Light Blue, designed by Mary Lake-Thompson for Robert Kaufman Fabrics.  Here’s the detail:

I really love the Country-Western element of the cowboy boots.  The whole Country-Western thing seems to a particularly appealing aspect of America to Germans.  I say these things in jest and feel some entitlement to do so, since I have married a German.  🙂  You haven’t experienced life to its fullest until you have been in a packed bar full of people singing Country Roads in a German accent:  “Take me home, Vest Fffirginia . . .”

I should also note that fabric is insanely expensive over here in Switzerland.  The fabric shop in my village sells the most boring, ugly blue jersey knit for 30 Francs a meter.  So, as ridiculously illogical as it seams, I often order fabric from the US and pay $30 just for shipping because it is still so much cheaper than either the fabric or the clothing would be here in Switzerland.  I’m still exploring the best places to order from, but so far, I like Fabric.com.

Frank also got an American cheesecake for his birthday, which tasted good but had a nice crack down the middle.  The ovens here have a fan setting and it really changes the way things cook, so it’s trial and error with my American recipes.  But I am getting better at it–and at converting everything between American units and metric.  More on the tricks I’ve picked up in a later post . . .

One response »

  1. Oh, I love that fabric! I can completely relate, my husband is Iraqi and loves all things “cowboy” which includes western movies, log cabins, etc. Our basement family room is called “The Cowboy Room” and is where we put all his souvenirs, collectibles and memorabilia. With denim slipcovers, corduroy, bandana prints, quilts, etc. Next on the list is a faux wood burning stove, which is just an electric space heater that looks like an old wood burner. I could go on and on, lol.

Leave a comment